Skip to content

German coconut-strawberry-milknoodles

February 20, 2011

German Milknoodles are very popular among little children and are often served as a sweet main dish. Usually, you just have to cook the pasta of your choice with some milk and sugar instead of water and thicken the sauce with a bit starch. To be honest, when I was younger and heard of Milknoodles for the first time, I actually thought that this dish had to be very disgusting, because I just couldn’t imagine using milk to cook noodles and even add sugar to it since I had never eaten sweet noodles before. But my attitude changed when I once visited one of my friends and got to eat Milknoodles for lunch. I was really surprised then, because I did actually taste very good and from this moment on I realized that you have to try everything first before you can judge them 😉

This recipe uses strawberry milk and coconut milk so that it is more aromatic, but if you don’t like strawberry or coconut, you can substitute these through any other flavored milk or cream. But mind, that you don’t have to add any additional sugar when your milk is already sweetened or otherwise it’ll be unenjoyable ^^

German coconut-strawberry-milknoodles

Ingredients: (for 1 person)

1 cup pasta of your choice

17 oz  strawberry milk (or any other kind of flavored milk)

6.7 oz coconut milk

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp corn starch smoothed  with some water

a bit cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Mix the strawberry and coconut milk with the salt in a pan and bring it to boil.
  2. Add the pasta and simmer gently for approximately 15-20 mins until tender.
  3. Pour in the starch mixture and let it cook until the milk sauce is thickened.
  4. Sprinkle with some cinnamon before eating.


All recipes are on Petitchef

9 Comments leave one →
  1. timo stuhlsatz permalink
    February 20, 2011 5:02 pm

    haha minh ha =)
    awesome!!!
    you’re website wonderfull ^^
    your passion enviable
    and your ideas fantastic

  2. February 24, 2011 12:27 am

    I love learning new things. This sounds really good and amazed by the strawberry milk. i am eager to give this a try.

  3. February 25, 2011 7:20 am

    Hallo, ich wohne auch in Deutschland…:)!! I am new to your blog and I am still looking around. You’ve got interesting posts :)!

  4. February 26, 2011 8:56 am

    This is totally a new recipe to me, looks delish.

Trackbacks

  1. German coconut-strawberry-milknoodles | Food Frenzy

Leave a comment