Skip to content

Oishii ~ >.< ! Deep-fried Kappa Uramaki Sushi

May 23, 2011

Hello folks! 😀

First, I am deeply sorry that I haven’t been able to post anything on my blog recently, because I was kinda ill last week. To be honest, there are a lot of issues coming up lately that’s why I tend to feel down from time to time, but now I think I have finally found a way to get through this kind of Teenage-life crisis, so to put it in a nutshell: I am back to life and posting again! 😉

So for my comeback, I will share with you my absolutely yummy Deep-fried Kappa Uramaki Sushi recipe!

And yes, there is nothing wrong with your eyes neither have I done a typo. These are really deep-fried sushi rolls and believe me, THEY. ARE. TOTALLY. DELICIOUS. resp. OISHII (in Japanese) !

Since sushi is one of my favorite dishes anyway, I haven’t expected it to be bad from the start, but honestly, the crispy, golden breadcrumbs coating just makes every kind of sushi even more flavorful and heartier than ever!

Actually, I have already heard about deep-fried Tempura sushi before, but unfortunately there are no tempura flakes left in my house, so I decided to use breadcrumbs instead. Besides, I chose cucumber as my sushi filling, but in fact, you can put anything you want into your sushi such as tuna, avocado and the like. Just let your creativity run wild, because that’ s what cooking is all about, right? 😀 Oh, and there is another thing that has to be mentioned, namely that I didn’t used normal Japanese sushi rice but New Crop Jasmine Rice (Thai Hom Mali) instead and in my opinion it turned out even better than the usual result, since that sort of rice seems to be stickier than sushi rice. That’s why the sushi roll won’t fall apart too easily while rolling it in the beaten eggs and breadcrumbs. Though, if you can’t get this ingredient just use what you have at hand, but I think the stickier the rice the better (maybe you can also use glutinous rice as well? Gotta try that next time).

By the way, if your deep-fried sushi roll is not cut into pieces yet, don’t you think they kind of resemble corn dogs very much? ^^  Enjoy the recipe!

Ingredients: (for 2 sushi rolls)

2~3 cups of warm sushi rice (or New Crop Jasmine Rice (Thai Hom Mali) that I used)

2 tbsp rice vinegar

1 tbsp sugar

1 Nori sheet

1/3 of a medium cucumber (peeled and quartered; remember to also remove the kernels of the cucumber)

enough breadcrumbs (about 500 gr) in a shallow dish

2 eggs (slightly beaten with 1 tbsp of Fish sauce)

oil for frying (at least 600 ml)

ketchup or sweet chilli sauce (optional)

Besides:

bamboo mat for sushi rolling

1 little plastic bag (should be a little bit smaller in size than your bamboo mat)

1 Wok

1 colander

some paper towel

Directions:

Preparing your rice:

  1. Take your warm rice and combine with rice vinegar and sugar.
  2. Mix well and let stand for about 5 mins.
Preparing your work station:
  1. Transfer the beaten eggs in a shallow dish.
  2. Put the dish with breadcrumbs and the eggs in your reach.
  3. Place the plastic bag on your bamboo mat.
  4. Pour frying oil in a wok.
  5. Put some paper towel into your colander.
Rolling the Uramaki sushi:
  1. Spread 1 ~ 1.5 cups of rice evenly over the plastic bag by pressing with a wet spoon or your own fingertips, leaving a 1cm-border at the bottom edge and a 5cm-border at the top edge.
  2. Take your Nori sheet cut it into 2 halves. Then cut about 1/3 of each half off again and place it in the middle of your rice layer.
  3. Arrange 2 pieces of cucumber on the Nori sheet. See picture below.
  4. Roll up the sushi tightly with the bamboo mat to form a neatly packed cylinder and squeeze firmly to make sure the sushi roll is tightly packed (but don’t exaggerate or you’ll break it).
  5. Then remove the plastic bag and divide the roll into two halves using a wet, sharp knife.
  6. Now, heat up your oil in the Wok until it is ready for frying.
  7. Then dip one half of the sushi roll in the eggs evenly and then in breadcrumbs until totally coated.
  8. Put it into the oil immediately and fry it until it turns golden.
  9. Transfer it into your prepared colander.
  10.  Repeat the whole process with the remaining rice until you’re finished.
  11. Then cut each fried roll into 3 equal pieces and serve with ketchup, sweet chilli sauce or your favorite dipping sauce.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 2:01 am

    Deep fried sushi?? Sounds very interesting, not to mention creative:D
    I am sure it tastes great, love your idea:)

    • May 24, 2011 2:52 pm

      Yes, I assure you it really does taste great! 😉 Thanks for sharing your opinion.

  2. June 13, 2011 12:53 pm

    I like it very much!

  3. July 2, 2011 4:03 am

    I would be more than happy to eat sushi for every meal. Deep-fried rolls have such a wonderful texture to them.

    It is vegetarian week at our online Get Grillin’ event and we would love if you submitted up to any 3 recipes (they don’t have to be grilled) to our link up. This one would be perfect!
    This week we have a ManPans giveaway. http://bit.ly/k1tKeY

  4. February 20, 2013 1:56 am

    What brand of breadcrumbs did you use? I’ve been looking for this for years !!! This type of tempura ! Thank you soo much

  5. April 22, 2013 10:31 pm

    I have learn some just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you place to make this type of wonderful informative web site.

  6. September 9, 2013 8:23 pm

    It is appropriate time too make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.

    I’ve read this publish and if I maay I wish too counsel you some interesting issues or suggestions.
    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles relatig to this article.
    I want to learn more issues about it!

Trackbacks

  1. Oishii ~ >.< ! Deep-fried Kappa Uramaki Sushi « Food Frenzy

Leave a Reply

