Skip to content

Steamed Moist Avocado-coconut cake

February 26, 2011

Hello guys! First of all, I want to clarify some things: This recipe is actually created by me in occasion of the running St.Patrick’s Day food contest of Food Frenzy. So of course I would be very, very, very thankful to all of you, if you will vote for me 🙂  Voting starts on Sunday (February 27, 2011) at 10:00am and ends Monday (March 14, 2011) at 9:00pm (US time!!!). Thankee ! xD

Vote for me under this link and click on voting button ^^:

http://blogstew.net/foodfrenzy/desserts/1852/

 

Steamed moist avocado-coconut cake

Well, now to the most important part of this post: the steamed moist avocado cake itself ^^

I know, some of you may think that avocado in a cake seems to be very odd, but I can calm you: I just made this cake a few hours ago and it turned out to be fabulous, especially if you are an avocado lover like me =) In addition to that the cake was very moist and definitely not dry at all due to the usage of cake flour. Anyway, just try the cake yourself and you’ll now what I am talking about. By the way, I think the color is really terrific and outstanding, perfectly suits St. Patrick’s Day, doesn’t it?

In fact, I was looking for a special dish in order to participate at the contest and one day, it suddenly came across my mind like a lightning: the Vietnamese “Banh Bong Lan Phu Si” (Steamed Mt. Fuji Sponge cake), which had a great green color as well.  But of course I thought, if I just adapted this recipe, there wouldn’t be anything special about it. Too boring! That’s why I decided to make a steamed avocado cake since I have actually never heard about that kind of cake before. But now, enough of the opening speech! I don’t want to bore you any longer, here is the recipe:

Ingredients: ( for 6 portions)

For the batter:

250 gr avocado cubes ( = 1 medium avocado)

100 gr vanilla sugar

120 gr castor sugar

400 ml cream

3 eggs, lightly beaten

200 gr cake flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp lemon juice

green food coloring (optional: if you wish a stronger green of your cake)

For the coconut frosting:

80 gr corn starch

150 gr castor sugar

400 gr coconut milk ( = 1 can)

Decoration:

dried grated coconut

chopped pistachios

brown & green tubes of sugar glaze for writing

Directions:

For the cake:

  1. Put avocado, sugar, beaten eggs, sugar, food coloring, lemon juice and the cream in a mixer and blend well.
  2. Mix baking powder with cake flour.
  3. Pour the green mixture over the flour and stir everything. Finally, the batter should be a bit runny.
  4. Take a soup bowl of glass or ceramic as your cake mould. Grease it with oil and line it completely with cling film so that the cake won’t stick on the bowl later.
  5. Pour the batter in the bowl, smooth down the surface and cover it with a round-cut sheet of parchment paper.
  6. Put everything in a steamer and steam on highest heat for approximately 1 hour.
  7. Get it out of the steamer, remove parchment paper and let cool down completely for at least 20 mins.
  8. Then turn the cake out of the mould and place it on a big plate.

the cake when steaming process was done

the cake without frosting

For the coconut frosting:

  1. Combine sugar, starch and coconut milk in a pot, stir well and make sure there are no lumps.
  2. Bring it to boil, reduce heat and cook until the mixture thickens.
  3. Pour the coconut cream evenly over the cake while it is still hot. Pay attention that you are not using too much of the cream, there could be something left.

For decoration:

  1. Sprinkle grated coconut over the whole cake.
  2. Decorate with chopped pistachios.
  3. Take the sugar glaze tubes and draw a shamrock on top of the cake.

And last but not least. enjoy the culinary delight 😉 !

the result xD

Happy eating ! ^^


All recipes are on Petitchef

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 10:46 am

    I love avocadoes as dessert too ! I love making avocado smoothie :)! Your cake looks very good, especially after it’s cut, I love the beautiful green colour. I’ll vote for you :D)! Und viel Glück!!

    • February 27, 2011 10:56 am

      Thank you very much! ^^ You would really do me a big favor. Danke schön! 😀

  2. Tammy permalink
    April 21, 2011 7:30 am

    Hi, I came across your blog while I was looking for a “vietnamese” cake recipe. I just love the way Vietnamese bakeries bake their cakes since it is unbelievably moist. The interior of your cake looks quite similar to ones I have eaten from such bakeries as a child and I got really excited. Do you know if the difference could be cake flour instead of all-purpose flour?

    By the way, your cake looks delicious! 🙂

    • April 22, 2011 10:31 pm

      Hi Tammy ^^
      Sorry for my late reply, but you are right. Cake flour contains less protein (gluten) than all-pupose flour and has the character to give cakes a moist and soft texture whereas regular flour is rather used for bread and so on. Besides, cake flour is always bleached that’s why it is whiter than other flours, perfect for Asian steamed buns and that kind of stuff, right 😉

  3. Jenn Jenn permalink
    July 7, 2011 9:40 pm

    What is Vanilla sugar? Is it the same as Vanilla extract? And also is castor sugar different from regular sugar?

Leave a Reply

