Skip to content

Fig ‘n’ Cheese German Zwieback casserole with illustrated recipe

March 20, 2011

Hello guys! First of all, I wanted to apologize to my readers, because it has been almost 2 weeks since I recently posted a  food related entry. But today I want to share with you something very special. Today’s post doesn’t only include a yummy recipe, but on top of that I have also illustrated it all by myself ^^.

Now, you may wonder what the reason for this special post is. In fact, I have discovered an amazing site on the web which is called TheyDraw&Cook and at the moment there is a Fig Recipe Contest going on which I decided to join. Did I mention that apart from cooking, drawing is my other passion? ^^However, further information can be found here. Anyway, I absolutely recommend you to visit that site and have a look at the numerous lovely illustrated, mouth-watering recipes. It is just gorgeous! xD

German "Zwieback" slices

But before I give you the recipe, I have still one thing to say about my Fig ‘n’ Cheese Zwieback casserole. I am not very sure if “Zwieback” are available all over the world, so if that is not the case just replace them through rusks. Actually, Zwieback are also just a sort of rusks and when I was a kid, my mom often gave me them to eat when I had a gippy tummy. Nevertheless, I still like Zwieback very much, because of their crispy consistency and their lightly sweet taste.

Of course, this time I won’t note down the instructions here, since you can get them together with the illustration, so just click on the image in order to get a larger version. Have fun! 😉

And last but not least, I will show you what the casserole looks like in reality. By the way, I have to admit that this dish really hit my taste, because I am a huge cheese lover and in combination with the fruity sweetness of the dried figs, it turned out to be a bomb. So just try it out 😀


All recipes are on Petitchef

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 9:43 pm

    This looks amazing and love the illustrated instructions…very cool! Thanks for sharing.

  2. March 21, 2011 6:58 pm

    Wow, your drawing is very cute…!! I like it a lot, you’re an artist :D)!!

  3. March 22, 2011 4:17 pm

    Now this is something I know I have never tried, sure looks good. What do you think of using fresh figs instead of the dried, I think they would be even better?
    But thanks for a recipe that looks so good and can’t wait to try.

    • March 22, 2011 5:03 pm

      Of course you can use fresh figs as well! To be honest, I also wanted to use fresh figs first, but since they are so hard to get at this season in Germany, I had to use dried ones. And if you still manage to find some they are unfortunately just too expensive :(.

      Please tell me how your version of this casserole turned out when you’re done, ok? 😉
      I think it will be even more aromatic using fresh ingredients ^^.

  4. March 22, 2011 7:25 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    • March 23, 2011 4:44 pm

      Thank you very much for your advice 🙂
      I will definitely join your Cooking Portal with my blog!

  5. March 23, 2011 2:38 pm

    This looks like a perfect casserole to me! i love the flavors you incorporated in this!

  6. April 21, 2011 12:59 am

    congrats on having a successfull amazing lookin blog.. I wish I could write like you man.. seriously

Trackbacks

  1. Fig ‘n’ Cheese German Zwieback casserole with illustrated recipe | Food Frenzy

Leave a comment