Skip to content

3 mins 600-calorie-power-porridge brunch

February 5, 2011

Hello guys!

Finally, here I am with my very first post on my beloved food blog ^o^/

Today, I wanna share with you my absolutely favourite week-end breakfast resp. brunch item: PORRIDGE !!!

In Germany, it’ s called “Haferbrei” and lately it’ s getting more and more popular due to its healthy nutritional facts. But I think that isn’t something new. In my case, I really really love porridge, but not just because I want to eat a healthy meal. It ‘s just that I’m CRAZY about everything creamy and chewy, may it be rice porridge, cream of wheat or whatever, I would never get fed up with these dishes xxD

Today was no school and I usually get up at 11 o’clock on Saturdays, so I decided to have a VERY VERY large bowl of oatmeal (actually I ate about 17 ounces of oatmeal and that was really filling), because I wanted to skip lunch. Besides, it was the first time I pimped up my porridge in that fatty way with sour cream instead of yoghurt, fried onions for hot dogs, some homemade German-style almond butter ( I gonna post the recipe of my almond butter next time) and some honey. All in all, I looked up the nutritional  fact of my creation after my meal and got to see that the whole bowl I ate  contained about 600 calories and 33 grams of fat.

German Danish-style fried onions

Röstzwiebeln - Danish fried onions

 

Actually, it isn’t really that unhealthy, just in comparison to the way I usually eat porridge it may be a bit heavy. And if you only eat half of it for breakfast it will only contain 300 calories which is totally fine I think.

Some of you may think that this is a weird combination due to the fried onions, but to be honest it was like being in heaven! The savoury taste of the onions and the fresh taste of the sour cream combined in a creamy bowl of oats topped with wild honey is the best thing I’ve ever eaten and I will definitely make this dish again ^^

And in addition to that it only takes about 3 mins prepared in the microwave.  Besides you will able to enjoy your meal immediately without even burning your tongue! Isn’t that great? Check out my recipe and taste it yourself, folks ^^

Ingredients:

A 600 calorie bomb from heaven

7 tbsp steel-cut oats
1 tbsp fried onions
1 cup  water
1/2 cup cold low-fat milk
3  1/2 ounces cold sour cream
1 tbsp German-style almond butter
1  1/2 tbsp wild honey

Directions:

  1. Add oats and onions in a large bowl.
  2. Pour water in the bowl and mix well. Microwave everything by 1000 watt for 3 mins.
  3. Get it out if the microwave. The consistency is very thick now so stir in the milk to get a smoother texture.
  4. Top with sour cream, almond butter and wild honey. Stir well before eating.

All recipes are on Petitchef

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Summer Zheng permalink
    February 6, 2011 3:26 am

    i will try that

  2. February 20, 2011 3:00 am

    Unfortunately, I can help nothing. I think, you will find the correct decision. Do not despair.

  3. April 8, 2011 10:59 pm

    Some truly marvelous work on behalf of the owner of this site, dead outstanding content .

  4. May 3, 2011 12:34 pm

    You gave tremendous positive points there. I did a search on the topic and found most peoples will agree with your blog.

  5. May 26, 2012 10:08 pm

    Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your web-site into Chinese? I know a couple of of translaters right here that will would help you do it for no cost if you wanna get in touch with me personally.

Trackbacks

  1. Homemade German-style almond butter (Mandelmus) «

Leave a Reply

