Skip to content

Easter Menu Appetizer: Curry and Dill spiced Siu Mai

April 27, 2011

Siu Mai (aka Chinese Steamed Pork Dumpling) – do not only taste great, but will definitely be an eyecatcher for your guests as well! In my recipe, I have experimented a little bit with the seasoning and ended up with a unique taste of curry, dill and Vietnamese fish sauce instead of soy sauce. Actually, Siu Mai are made with pork and prawns, but due to some time pressure I was forced to omit the prawn layer. Sorry guys! Although they still are incredibly good as they are ^^

And if you want to see more Recipes of this year’s Easter menu, then click HERE.

Recipe: (adapted from Appetite for China)

Ingredients: (makes about 30 pieces)

800 gr ground pork

2 tbsp Curry powder

1 tbsp dehydrated dill

2 tbsp dehydrated chives

6 tbsp fish sauce

2 tbsp tapioca flour

1 tbsp vanillin sugar

9 tbsp water

1 package frozen Wonton wrappers (40 pieces)

frozen green peas

Directions:

For the filling:

  1. Combine all ingredients, apart from the Wonton wrappers of course, in a big bowl and mix well by hands.
  2. Put the mixture into the fridge for at least 4 hours or better overnight.
For the Siu Mai:
  1. Take the frozen Wonton wrappers and let stand at room temperature for about 1 hour or until they are completely defrosted.
  2. You will see that the wrappers are squares. So cut off each edge with a knife so that you will have an eight-sided-figure that will look somewhat like this…
  3. For wrapping the Siu Mai, I am now sending you to Makiko Itoh’s site Just Bento (a great blog, btw), since I didn’t take any pictures of how I made these. And I think, it would be probably very difficult to explain that only with words, so you better visit this link. (But make sure to cut the edges before, because this will lead to a nicer result at the end, although Makiko-san didn’t do so.)
  4. Then decorate with some frozen peas on top of the meat.
  5. Finally put them in a steamer for approximately 20-30 mins and serve immediately.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 7:21 pm

    We love Siu Mai, but I never thought I would be able to create this at home. Time to think again. I love shrimp and my other half loves peas., so it will be a variation on your recipe, but isn’t that what cooking is all about !?

    • May 2, 2011 10:44 pm

      Yes, I totally agree with you! Actually, I love experimenting with ingredients very much that’s why cooking is such a pleasure to me ;)

  2. May 3, 2011 7:37 pm

    Looks like you are an expert in this field, good articles and keep up the great work, my buddy recommended me this.

    My blog:
    regroupement de credit puis Rachat De Credit fonctionnaire

    • May 4, 2011 6:51 pm

      Thank you. Hope you will look forward to my further posts as well and I’ll keep trying to not disappoint my readers for sure ^^ Thank you to your buddy also for recommending my blog ;)

  3. May 14, 2011 9:15 am

    Right on!

  4. May 23, 2011 10:27 am

    big like! – thanks .

Trackbacks

  1. 2011 Easter Menu with 5 Recipes «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

